Beginnings

If you’re brave enough to say goodbye, life will reward you with a new hello. – Paulo Coelho

Beginnings

The quote above is what this past year has taught me. After breaking up with an emotionally and psychologically manipulative ex-boyfriend. I thought for sure that I would never find anyone that would truly love me for me. I thought that maybe I had done some things in my life that were so horrible that karma was coming back to get me. Maybe I deserved it. I don’t talk about my family a lot. But for the sake of understanding, this is how I was raised to believe. Growing up whenever I made a new friend or had a new boyfriend, my grandmother would tell me “They are only using you.” “For what”, I asked. “My money.” She said. Apparently that was all people thought about according to her. Getting close to me to steal her money. We weren’t even rich and still aren’t. Whenever I broke with then said boyfriend she say “See I told you they were just using you.” It might have been true. I might not also. It could be I am now so paranoid that I couldn’t have possibly trusted someone that much to know for sure. But for now I’d rather believe that I will find someone who loves me (crazy family and all). And I believe I already met him. Someone who I took care of when they needed it and now is taking care of me now that I need it. He didn’t run away when I lost my job or when I was in so deep with my depression I could barely get out of bed to cook or clean. He did however bring me kittens and tell me it will all be ok. So maybe she was wrong afterall. Maybe I’m more than just her money.

Edit: This is part of a blogger challenge by Softpaw Sommer. You can read the original post here.

One thought on “Beginnings

  1. Softpaw January 1, 2015 / 8:31 pm

    Kittens are a good way to make things better. I am glad you are in a better spot now and have found someone right for you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

